Every week we pull together some great recipes from Canadian food bloggers around the web featuring one main ingredient.  This week, we're sharing our love for that perfect green food, the avocado!

15 Avocado Recipes That Aren't Smoothies | Food Bloggers of Canada

We love the avocado around these parts.  It's practically a perfect food with its healthy fats, pretty colour, and let's face it, it tastes delicious.  But don't relegate the avocado to smoothies (although who can argue with that?).

It can be used it so many more ways!  With a  flavour that blends so well with sweet, savoury, acidic, salty it can fit in anywhere at any meal.  You can even sneak it into desserts to up the nutrition content with nobody being the wiser.

So here are 15 avocado recipes to try when you don't want another smoothie!

15 Avocado Recipes That Aren't Smoothies

By Food Bloggers of Canada

  • Green Beans & Lentils with Creamy Avocado Cilantro Sauce

    By Food Bloggers of Canada

    **[Green Beans & Lentils with Creamy Avocado Cilantro Sauce](http://www.thegreenlife.ca/green-beans-lentils-w-creamy-avocado-cilantro-sauce/)** from **The Green Life**.

  • Vegan No Bake Key Lime Avocado Pie

    By Food Bloggers of Canada

    **[Vegan No Bake Key Lime Avocado Pie](http://www.shelovesbiscotti.com/vegan-no-bake-key-lime-avocado-pie/)** from **She Loves Biscotti**.

  • Seared Tuna with Avocado, Soy, Ginger and Lime

    By Food Bloggers of Canada

    **[Seared Tuna with Avocado, Soy, Ginger and Lime](http://clockwatchingtart.blogspot.ca/2013/07/seared-tuna-with-avocado-soy-ginger-and.html)** from **Clockwatching Tart**

  • Cauliflower Kale Avocado Soup

    By Food Bloggers of Canada

    **[Cauliflower, Kale and Avocado Soup](https://phruitfuldish.wordpress.com/2015/11/05/cauliflower-kale-avocado-soup/)** from **Phruitful Dish**.

  • Avocado Chocolate Chip Cookies

    By Food Bloggers of Canada

    **[Avocado Chocolate Chip Cookies](http://thecookiewriter.com/avocado-chocolate-chip-cookies/)** from **The Cookie Writer**.

  • Coconut Avocado Magic Shell Popsicles

    By Food Bloggers of Canada

    **[Coconut Avocado Magic Shell Popsicles](http://www.isugarcoatit.com/2014/08/coconut-avocado-magic-shell-popsicles.html/)** from **I Sugar Coat It**.

  • Loaded Sweet Potatoes

    By Food Bloggers of Canada

    **[Loaded Sweet Potatoes](http://www.therefreshanista.com/loaded-sweet-potatoes/)** from **The Refreshanista**.

  • Mexican Molletes

    By Food Bloggers of Canada

    **[Mexican Molletes](http://www.simplebites.net/mexican-molletes-avocado-bean-cheese-melts/)** (avocado, bean and cheese melts) from **Simple Bites**.

  • Avocado Shrimp Dip

    By Food Bloggers of Canada

    **[Avocado Shrimp Dip](http://www.livinglou.com/2013/11/avocado-shrimp-dip.html)** from **Living Lou**.

  • Southwestern Avocado Scramble Salad

    By Food Bloggers of Canada

    **[Southwestern Avocado Scramble Salad](https://tastespace.wordpress.com/2015/04/09/southwestern-avocado-scramble-salad/)** from **The Taste Space**.

  • Pasta With Avocado Sauce

    By Food Bloggers of Canada

    **[Pasta With Avocado Sauce](https://dishnthekitchen.wordpress.com/2014/04/26/pasta-with-avocado-sauce/)** from **Dish n the Kitchen**.

  • Avocado Grapefruit Salad

    By Food Bloggers of Canada

    **[Avocado Grapefruit Salad](https://heatherseats.wordpress.com/2012/07/20/im-posting-a-recipe/)** from **Heather's Eats**.

  • Decadent Dark Chocolate Banana Bread

    By Food Bloggers of Canada

    **[Decadent Dark Chocolate Banana Bread](http://justinecelina.com/decadent-dark-chocolate-banana-bread/)** from **Justine Celina**.

  • Basil Avocado Bacon Deviled Eggs

    By Food Bloggers of Canada

    **[Basil Avocado Bacon Deviled Eggs](http://www.theprimaldesire.com/basil-avocado-bacon-deviled-eggs/)** from** The Primal Desire**

  • Chocolate Mint Avocado Pudding

    By Food Bloggers of Canada

    **[Chocolate Mint Avocado Pudding](http://delightfuladventures.com/dark-chocolate-mint-avocado-pudding/)** from **Delightful Adventures**

RELATED:  The Bacon Lover's Episode: 14 Bacon Recipes

Want more avocado recipes? Try our Avocado board on Pinterest for more green delicious dishes!

A big thank you to all our FBC Members who participated in this weekend's avocado recipe roundup.

If you're an FBC Member and would like to submit to future weekend link roundups, join our FBC Facebook shares and links forum.

The New FBC Food Lovers Newsletter

If you love getting Canadian recipes in your inbox, then you might want to subscribe to The FBC Food Lovers Newsletter. Once a week we’ll be featuring great Canadian recipes from FBC members, as well as occasional delicious offers from some of our partners.

You don’t have to be an FBC Member to subscribe – you just have to love food! All you have to do is click here to subscribe!

More Reading

Hello Summer!
  GET YOUR FREE WATERMELON RECIPE E-BOOK  
JOIN OUR MAILING LIST
Categorized:: Recipe Roundup, Food & Drink, Recipes

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *