Top

19 Ways to Use Chives in Your Cooking

Every week we pull together some great Canadian recipes from Canadian food bloggers around the web featuring one main ingredient or dish. Today we feature one of the easiest ingredients to grow on your own – chives and chive recipes!

19 Ways to Use Chives | Food Bloggers of Canada

Chives are one of the easiest items to grow in your garden – whether they’re in a garden bed or a pot on your deck.  And they come back year after year with very little fuss.  And with their pretty purple flowers, when spring rolls around they can have your garden looking lovely.

There’s nothing better than being able to snip a few chives from your deck to add to salads, dressings, potatoes, pasta, muffins, scones, eggs… the list is limitless.  Here are 19 of our favourite ways to use chives:


Chive Recipes for Spring

By Food Bloggers of Canada

  • Cheddar Chive Scones

    By Food Bloggers of Canada

    You could make these **[Cheddar Chive Scones](http://foodmamma.com/2017/05/cheddar-chive-scones/)** for brunch or tea or just a snack! From **Food Mamma**.

  • Sardine Spaghetti with Chives

    By Food Bloggers of Canada

    Sometimes it's the simplest ingredients that make the best dishes – like this **[Sardine Spaghetti with Chives](http://marisasitaliankitchen.com/sardine-spaghetti-with-chives/)**.  So much flavour! From **Marisa's Italian Kitchen**.

  • Super Stuffed Cheesy Bacony Twice Baked Potatoes

    By Food Bloggers of Canada

    A decadent potato if ever there was one – chives are a classic add on to these **[Stuffed Cheesy Bacon Twice Baked Potatoes](http://sheeats.ca/2015/11/super-stuffed-cheesy-bacony-twice-baked-potatoes/)**.  From **She Eats**.

  • Romanesco Broccoli Soup With Blue Cheese and Chives

    By Food Bloggers of Canada

    Chives are a perfect accompaniment to blue cheese.  And blue cheese is the perfect accompaniment to broccoli.  So why not put them all together in this **[Romanesco Broccoli Soup with Blue Cheese and Chives](http://www.sugarlovespices.com/romanesco-broccoli-soup-with-blue-cheese-and-chives/)**.  From **Sugar Love Spices**.

  • Double Chive Pesto

    By Food Bloggers of Canada

    A double dose of chives for **[Double Chive Pesto](http://mdivadomestica.com/2017/05/double-chive-pesto/)** using common chives and garlic chives.  From **MDIVADOMESTICA**.

  • Bacon, Cheese and Potato Skin Sandwiches

    By Food Bloggers of Canada

    A fun and creative take on the classic potato skin bar snack, these **[Bacon, Cheese and Potato Skin Sandwiches](http://www.bitememore.com/feedme/188/bacon-cheese-and-potato-skin-sandwiches)** are off the charts! From **Bite Me More**.

  • Chive Blossom Vinegar

    By Food Bloggers of Canada

    An easy way to make the most of you garden's chives while making a stunningly pretty **[Chive Blossom Vinegar](http://nutmegdisrupted.com/chive-blossom-vinegar/)**.  From **Nutmeg Disrupted**.

  • Garlic Chives Smashed Fingerling Potatoes

    By Food Bloggers of Canada

    Smashed potatoes are an easy way to up your potato game and **[Garlic Chives Smashed Fingerling Potatoes](http://www.shelovesbiscotti.com/garlic-chives-smashed-fingerling-yellow-potatoes/)** will surely be a hit at your table.  From **She Loves Biscotti**.

  • Bacon & Gouda Frittata

    By Food Bloggers of Canada

    Chives make a great addition to eggs in any forum but a **[Bacon and Gouda Frittata](http://www.simplystacie.net/2013/05/bacon-and-gouda-frittata-recipe/)** has all the perfect flavours for a savoury brunch.  From **Simply Stacie**.

  • Chive and Lemon Vinaigrette

    By Food Bloggers of Canada

    **[Chive and Lemon Vinaigrette](http://www.gettystewart.com/chive-and-lemon-vinaigrette/)** is the perfect dressing for a lovely spring salad! From **Getty Stewart**.

Recommended Reading:  How to Food Style Waffles and Pancakes

More Chive Recipes

Click on the photos to be taken to the recipes.

A big thank you to all our FBC Members who participated in our chive recipe roundup!

If you’re an FBC Member and would like to submit to future weekend link roundups, make sure you’re signed up to receive your members only newsletter where we list all the weekly roundups for the current month (don’t receive your monthly member newsletter? Log in to your account and check off the box to receive our member updates!)

 

CANADIAN FOOD UPDATES IN YOUR INBOX!
Join our mailing list
JOIN TODAY

, , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

CANADIAN FOOD UPDATES IN YOUR INBOX!
Join our mailing list
JOIN TODAY