Every week we pull together some great Canadian recipes from Canadian food bloggers around the web featuring one main ingredient or dish. This week we're all about Canada Day recipes! 

Oh Canada: Canada Day Recipe Ideas | Food Bloggers of Canada

Every year on July 1st Canadians get together to celebrate a birthday - our birthday! And this year the country we are all so lucky to call home is celebrating a big 150.  And that means... birthday parties!

Oh Canada: Canada Day Recipe Ideas | Food Bloggers of Canada

We've gathered up lots of recipe ideas for your Canada Day BBQ, picnic, potluck or neighbourhood street party (street hockey included we hope! Car!).  So wave the red and white, embrace the maple leaf and stay cool!

Canada Day Party Recipe Ideas

By Food Bloggers of Canada

  • Canada Day Heart Shortbread Cookies

    By Food Bloggers of Canada

    We loved these **[Maple Leaf Heart Cookies](https://afullspoonof.wordpress.com/2017/06/18/canada-day-heart-cookies/)** almost as much as we loved Tamara's story of what Canada means to her as somebody who came here as a child and who teaches English to Canadian newcomers.  From **A Full Spoon Of**.

  • Maple Butter Pecan Tart

    By Food Bloggers of Canada

    How could we not fall in love with this **[Maple Butter Pecan Tar](http://www.sneakymommies.com/maple-butter-pecan-tart/)**t? This is like a giant butter tart but with maple syrup! From **Sneaky Mommies**.

  • Coconut Raspberry Popsicles

    By Food Bloggers of Canada

    **[Coconut Raspberry Popsicles](https://www.theendlessmeal.com/coconut-raspberry-popsicles/)** are an easy to make red and white treat that will make it easy to cool down during all your July 1st celebrations! From **The Endless Meal**.

  • How To Carve A Watermelon Bowl - Canadian Style

    By Food Bloggers of Canada

    Nothing tastes better on a hot day than cold watermelon and this Canadian version of a "**[Watermelon Bowl](http://www.celebrationgeneration.com/blog/2012/06/06/how-to-carve-a-watermelon-bowl-canadian-style/)**" will have everyone talking! It sure made us smile! From **Celebration Generation**.

  • Nanaimo Bars

    By Food Bloggers of Canada

    You can't celebrate anything Canadian without this most classic of Canadian desserts - **[The Nanaimo Bar](http://www.allergygirleats.com/nanaimo-bars/)**.  This version is nut allergy friendly but still packs in all the deliciousness you expect from a Nanaimo Bar.  From **Allergy Girl Eats**.

  • Canadian Red, White & Bacon Skewers

    By Food Bloggers of Canada

    Jo & Sue put together some of the most creative year round entertaining ideas we've ever seen.  We love their **[Canadian Red, White and Bacon Skewers](http://joandsue.blogspot.ca/2013/06/canadian-red-white-bacon-skewers-and.html)** (and click through to the recipe for tips on making a Watermelon Canadian Beaver!). From** Jo & Sue.**

  • Caprese Caesar Cocktail

    By Food Bloggers of Canada

    Add a little extra red and white to Canada's cocktail on Canada Day with a **[Caprese Caesar Cocktail](http://thefoodblog.net/caprese-caesar-drink/)**! From **The Food Blog**.

  • Strawberry Tiramisu (No Bake)

    By Food Bloggers of Canada

    Canada is all about bringing cultures together and this class Italian dessert gets a Canadian summer update - no bake **[Strawberry Tiramisu](http://www.sugarlovespices.com/strawberry-tiramisu/)** (who wants to bake in summer!?). From **Sugar Love Spices**.

  • Maple Buttercream Cupcakes with Candied Bacon

    By Food Bloggers of Canada

    The name says it all - maple and bacon! **[Maple Buttercream Cupcakes with Candied Bacon](http://mdivadomestica.com/2016/06/maple-buttercream-cupcake-with-candied-back-bacon/)** - the perfect end to a Canada Day party! From **MDIVADOMESTICA**.

  • Maple Leaf Linzer Cookies

    By Food Bloggers of Canada

    Everyone loves seeing that little red maple leaf like in these cute **[Maple Leaf Linzer Cookies](http://www.cookingsutra.com/linzer-cookies-for-canada-day/)**.  From **Cooking Sutra**.

  • Strawberry Creams for Canada 150

    By Food Bloggers of Canada

    **[Strawberry Cream Custard Pots](https://urbnspice.com/my-recipes/dessertsandsweets/strawberry-creams/)** echo the Canadian flag and are an elegant dessert that's easy to make! From **UrbnSpice**.

  • Raspberry Yoghurt Pops

    By Food Bloggers of Canada

    These **[Raspberry Yoghurt Popsicles](https://tinysweettooth.com/2016/07/01/raspberry-yoghurt-popsicles-for-canada-day/)** are a fun Canada Day treat that you can get the kids to make! From **Tiny Sweet Tooth**.

  • Canada Day Popsicles

    By Food Bloggers of Canada

    Popsicles are such an easy treat to make and summer fruits lend themselves so well.  These **[Canada Day Popsicles](http://www.exploringhealthyfoods.com/canada-day-popsicles/)** are a strawberry yogurt combo! From **Exploring Healthy Foods**.

  • Blueberry Bridies For Canada Day

    By Food Bloggers of Canada

    Another fusion treat - the traditional Bridie, a Scottish handheld meat pie, is transformed into a sweet treat with Canadian blueberries to create a **[Blueberry Bridie](http://outlanderkitchen.com/2013/07/01/blueberry-bridies-for-canada-day/)**.  From **Outlander Kitchen**.

  • A Red & White Canada Day Picnic Menu

    By Food Bloggers of Canada

    We put together an entire Canada Day Picnic Menu with recipes that include maple leaf watermelon bites, radish devilled eggs, crab stuffed mushrooms and roasted red pepper crab & mushroom dip and... **[Strawberries & Cream Angel Food Cake](https://www.foodbloggersofcanada.com/2015/06/outdoor-living-a-red-white-canada-day-picnic/)**.  From **Food Bloggers of Canada**

RELATED:  FBC Featured Member: Occasionally Eggs

A big thank you to all our FBC Members who participated in our Canada Day recipe roundup!

If you're an FBC Member and would like to submit to future weekend link roundups, make sure you're signed up to receive your members only newsletter where we list all the weekly roundups for the current month (don't receive your monthly member newsletter? Log in to your account and check off the box to receive our member updates!)

More Recipe Ideas

 

get peachy!
  GET YOUR FREE CANNED PEACH RECIPE E-BOOK  
JOIN OUR MAILING LIST
Categorized:: Recipe Roundup, Food & Drink, Recipes

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *