Go Green: 15 Spring Recipe Ideas | Food Bloggers of Canada

Every week we pull together some great recipes from Canadian food bloggers around the web featuring one main ingredient.  This week, instead of an ingredient, we're featuring a colour - green!

Spring is starting to sproing across Canada and St. Patrick's Day is only a few days away so let's celebrate green with some Canadian recipes.  Green always feels so refreshing and with great seasonal ingredients like ramps and asparagus, spring is definitely felt in some of these recipes!  But there's also some decadent desserts - after all, mint and chocolate are a classic pairing that can't be ignored!

15 Great Green Recipes for Spring!

By Food Bloggers of Canada

  • Shaved Asparagus Pizza

    By Food Bloggers of Canada

    Fresh spring ingredients are what put this Shaved Asparagus Pizza from Isabelle at **Crumb** over the top delicious.

  • Chocolate Chip Mint Bundt Cake

    By Food Bloggers of Canada

    Chocolate and mint are perfect partners in this [Chocolate Chip Mint Bundt Cake](http://www.mykitchenlove.com/chocolate-mint-chip-bundt-cake/) from Samantha at **My Kitchen Love**.

  • Spring Ramp Radish and Spinach Soup

    By Food Bloggers of Canada

    These ingredients scream spring and green! Try this [Spring Ramp, Radish and Spinach Soup](http://www.simplebites.net/spring-ramp-radish-spinach-soup/) from Aimée at **Simple Bites**.

  • St. Patrick's Day Sushi

    By Food Bloggers of Canada

    A fun take on sushi with this [St. Patrick's Day Sushi](http://joandsue.blogspot.ca/2012/03/st-patricks-day-sushi.html) from **Jo and Sue**.

  • Chocolate Dipped Matcha Shortbread Squares

    By Food Bloggers of Canada

    Double dip your afternoon tea with these delightful C[hocolate Dipped Matcha Shortbread Squares](http://www.teawithmeblog.com/2015/12/matcha-shortbread-squares-dipped-in-chocolate/) from Heather at **Tea With Me**.

  • Coriander (Cilantro) Chutney

    By Food Bloggers of Canada

    There are so many ways you can use this refreshing [Coriander (Cilantro) Chutney](http://veganlovlie.com/2015/10/traditional-mauritian-roti-and-fillings-2.html) from Teenuja at **VeganLovlie**.

  • Guacamole Jalapeno Poppers

    By Food Bloggers of Canada

    Spice up your guac with these[ Guacamole Jalapeño Poppers](http://kitchenuncorked.com/2015/09/15/guacamole-jalapeno-poppers/) from Natalie at **Kitchen Uncorked**.

  • Dill and Goat Cheese Tartine Spread

    By Food Bloggers of Canada

    Take your appetizers to the next level with this elegant [Dill and Goat Cheese Tartine Spread](http://www.cocoabeanthevegetable.com/2015/08/dill-and-goat-cheese-tartine-spread.html) from Hilary at **Cocoa Bean the Vegetable**.

  • Mint Chocolate Brownies

    By Food Bloggers of Canada

    Brownies make every day 147.8% better (it's a fact!) so you need a [Mint Chocolate Brownie](http://www.fridaycakenight.com/2016/03/mint-chocolate-brownies/) from Angie at **Friday is Cake Night**.

  • Green Kale Smoothie

    By Food Bloggers of Canada

    If you're new to the green smoothie trend then you need to give a real boost to the start of your day with this [Green Kale Smoothie](http://www.bhawishkitchen.com/2015/04/green-smoothie-kale-smoothie-detox.html) from Bhawya at **Bhawish's Kitchen**.

  • Asian Cucumber Salad

    By Food Bloggers of Canada

    A favourite in many west coast Asian restaurants, this [Asian Cucumber Salad](https://vanfoodies.com/2014/07/21/recipe-asian-cucumber-salad/) from the team at **VanFoodies** is so easy to make at home!

  • Kale and Walnut Pesto Risotto

    By Food Bloggers of Canada

    Add some colour to your risotto with kale in this [Kale and Walnut Pesto Risotto](http://foodnouveau.com/recipes/mains/kale-and-walnut-pesto-risotto/) from Marie at **Food Nouveau**.

  • Green Quinoa Salad

    By Food Bloggers of Canada

    Add some extra heft to your salad with quinoa like this [Green Quinoa Salad](http://www.bakersbeans.ca/the-green-quinoa-salad/) from Wanda at **Bakers Beans**.

  • Creamy Asparagus Soup (Dairy Free)

    By Food Bloggers of Canada

    Fresh, local asparagus is the signal that spring has arrived.  Make a  [Creamy Asparagus Soup](http://www.flavourandsavour.com/dairy-free-creamy-asparagus-soup/) like this one from Elaine at **Flavour and Savour**.

  • Green Curry Broccoli Soup

    By Food Bloggers of Canada

    A perfect transitional soup from winter to spring with this [Green Curry Broccoli Soup](http://theprimaldesire.com/green-curry-broccoli-soup/) from Raj and Holley at **The Primal Desire**.

RELATED:  Blogging 101: Exploring Ethnic Cooking

Want even more green recipes or St. Patrick's day ideas? Visit our Green recipe board on Pinterest for everything from green doughnuts to basil pesto!

A big thank you to all our FBC Members who participated in this weekend's green recipe roundup.

If you're an FBC Member and would like to submit to future weekend link roundups, join our FBC Facebook shares and links forum.

The New FBC Food Lovers Newsletter

If you love getting Canadian recipes in your inbox, then you might want to subscribe to The FBC Food Lovers Newsletter. Once a week we’ll be featuring great Canadian recipes from FBC members, as well as occasional delicious offers from some of our partners.

You don’t have to be an FBC Member to subscribe – you just have to love food! All you have to do is click here to subscribe!

More Reading

Hello Summer!
  GET YOUR FREE WATERMELON RECIPE E-BOOK  
JOIN OUR MAILING LIST
Categorized:: Recipe Roundup, Food & Drink, Recipes

Tags: , , , , , ,

4 Comments

Elaine
Reply

Wow! So many great green recipes to try–everything from brownies to sushi! Thanks for including my asparagus soup.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *