Every week we pull together some great Canadian recipes from Canadian food bloggers around the web featuring one main ingredient or dish. This week, we are all about indulging our sweet tooth in a healthier way!

19 Lightened Up Desserts | Food Bloggers of Canada

Who said sweets have to be off limits in January? Not us! FBC bloggers truly believe that adding a little sweetness to the first month in the calendar sets the tone for a year filled with positive vibes and gratifying experiences.

Obviously, after all the holiday eating, it is normal to feel a little guilty when presented with the opportunity of having a gooey brownie in January. Well, fear calories no more! Take a look at these heavenly, lightened up treats, bring dessert back to your table and stay on track with your New Year's resolutions for a healthier you!

Lightened Up Desserts

By Food Bloggers of Canada

  • Pineapple Whip

    By Food Bloggers of Canada

    [Pineapple Whip](https://leelalicious.com/pineapple-whip-soft-serve-like-frozen-dessert/) is a delicious frozen treat that is actually healthy and super easy to make. Some say it tastes just like at Disneyland, only this is clean eating, paleo friendly and includes a vegan option. From **Leelalicious**.

  • Vanilla Bean Cheesecake with Sweet Blueberry Sauce

    By Food Bloggers of Canada

    This is creamy, delicious, [Vanilla Bean Cheesecake with Sweet Blueberry Sauce](https://www.littlesweetbaker.com/2015/03/20/low-fat-vanilla-bean-cheesecake-with-blueberry-compote/) has only about half the calories of a traditional cheesecake, but all the great taste! From **Little Sweet Baker**.

  • Lemongrass Mint Ice Cream

    By Food Bloggers of Canada

    The herbs in this [Lemongrass Mint Ice Cream](https://whatsheate.com/2017/08/26/lemongrass-mint-ice-cream-3/) complement each other perfectly, while the added maple syrup and vanilla provide very subtle undertones. From **What She Ate**.

  • Gluten-free Orange Cranberry Coconut Scones

    By Food Bloggers of Canada

    These festive-looking [Orange Cranberry Coconut Scones](https://yangsnourishingkitchen.com/gluten-free-orange-cranberry-coconut-scones/) are perfect for breakfasts, snacks, and desserts. They are gluten-free because they use oat and coconut flours which are naturally sweetened and low sugar. From **Yang's Nourishing Kitchen**.

  • Healthy Creamsicles

    By Food Bloggers of Canada

    These [Healthy Creamsicles](http://www.mykitchenlove.com/healthy-creamsicles/) are made with just four ingredients and prepped in about five minutes flat. They are usually a huge hit with kids and adults alike. From **My Kitchen Love**.

  • Cherry and Mango Mousse

    By Food Bloggers of Canada

    This [Cherry and Mango Mousse](http://herbsspicesandtradition.blogspot.ca/2017/08/cherry-and-mango-mousse.html) recipe is quick, easy and doesn't include whipped cream, so you can enjoy more servings without the feeling of guilt. From **Herbs, Spices and Tradition**.

  • Cheesecake Stuffed Strawberries

    By Food Bloggers of Canada

    These [Cheesecake Stuffed Strawberries](http://foodmamma.com/2016/05/cheesecake-stuffed-strawberries/) are perfect when you feel like cheesecake but don’t feel like all the work. All the components of a cheesecake in one bite! From **Food Mamma**.

  • Healthy No Bake Blueberry Vanilla Cashew Bars

    By Food Bloggers of Canada

    Need something healthy to bring to a back-to-work party or potluck? Give these [Healthy No Bake Blueberry Vanilla Cashew Bars ](https://carmyy.com/healthy-no-bake-blueberry-vanilla-cashew-bars/)a go! They’ll be a hit! From **Carmy**.

  • Blueberry Sweet Cherry Nice Cream

    By Food Bloggers of Canada

    This [Blueberry Sweet Cherry Nice Cream](https://urbancottagelife.com/blueberry-sweet-cherry-nice-cream/) is a wonderfully light and refreshing dessert all year round. Your guests won't believe there is no added sugar! From **Urban Cottage Life**.

  • Paleo Double Chocolate Avocado Brownies

    By Food Bloggers of Canada

    These [Paleo Double Chocolate Avocado Brownies](http://www.pureandsimplenourishment.com/blog/2017/11/19/paleo-double-chocolate-avocado-brownies) are made without any flours at all yet still taste amazing. They are also really simple to make because they are made in your food processor or blender. Simple and delicious? Yes, it's possible. From **Pure and Simple Nourishment**.

RELATED:  Sprinkle-Packed Desserts!

MORE LIGHT DESSERT RECIPES

Click on the photos to be taken to the recipes!

A big thank you to all our FBC Members who participated in our lightened up desserts roundup!

If you're an FBC Member and would like to submit to future weekend link roundups, make sure you're signed up to receive your members-only newsletter where we list all the weekly roundups for the current month (don't receive your monthly member newsletter? Log in to your account and check off the box to receive our member updates!).

MORE RECIPE IDEAS

SaveSave

Watermelon Smile!
  GET YOUR FREE WATERMELON RECIPE E-BOOK  
JOIN OUR MAILING LIST
Categorized:: Recipe Roundup, Food & Drink

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *